Lavender: A calm way to refresh your mattress.

Image

I’ve been looking for new ways to use the essential oils I already own, so I was happy when a tip was posted on a facebook page I “like” called Homestead Survival.  This article explains a way to refresh your mattress using just baking soda, lavender essential oil, and a metal kitchen strainer.  I didn’t have a strainer, so after mixing the baking soda and lavender in the jar (and shaking) I just sprinkled it directly from the jar onto the bed and shmushed it around with my hands.  Basically you do just that…baking soda and lavender in a jar, shake, put directly on mattress.  Let it set for a while, and then vacuum it up.  While I was doing this I sent my sheets through a warm wash with homemade laundry soap and through a dry cycle along with a towel with some lavender essential oil dripped on it as well.  I wanted to pull the whole thing together that way :).  After vacuuming up the heavenly smelling baking soda I put the sheets back on the bed and laid down with my little man.  He and I drifted off into a deep sleep within minutes and woke up a few hours later.  I’m not big on lavender, but I swear I could literally feel my muscles letting go of their tension as I was laying there breathing in the aroma.

I’m converted, I will now be doing this at least once each month.
The article I linked to above doesn’t just talk about the calming scent and freshness given by the baking soda, it also means getting rid of pesky dust mites! 

If you don’t like the smell of lavender there are a couple of other calming essential oils I would suggest.  As much as I love them, I don’t suggest any citrus scents as they are considered to be more energizing/invigorating and with me being the mom of a baby the last thing I want is something that keeps me awake when I lie down for bed!  But anyways, here are my other suggestions…I don’t know if they’re all supposed to be calming, but that’s how they work for me…

*Roman Chamomile
*Eucalyptus
*Ylang Ylang 
*Rose
*Vetiver
*Caraway

If you have the time and ability to do this, I definitely suggest it.   

Leave a Reply

