Roasted Black Beans : The results are in!

Image

They may not be pretty to look at, but they were DELICIOUS!!  In fact, I will be making them on a regular basis.  The only thing I would do differently is that I would season them after cooking instead of before.  I had these for a snack after a delicious meal of barley and okra <3.  I needed some protein, so they were perfect.

Here’s how I did it!  …or rather how you should do it because of the seasoning issue I mentioned earlier…

Roasted Black Beans
What you need: a can of black beans, an oil you like to roast with, seasonings you like, a pan and an oven. Simple stuff for simple folks.

How you do it: Preheat 425.  Drain and rinse the can of black beans.  Dry them either using a paper towel, or if you’re me…a washcloth I grabbed out of the dryer.  They don’t have to be completely dry, but it helps.  Toss them with some olive oil. Throw ’em on a baking pan.  Bake 20 minutes, move them around with a spatula (oh yea, you should also get a spatula for this…unless you want burned fingers).  Bake 10-20 more minutes while keeping an eye on them.  Remove from oven, spritz lightly with oil once more (I use an olive oil sprayer) and throw on whatever seasoning you like.  I used a mix of cumin and chili powder.

And you’re done.

Try it…you’ll like it 🙂

Leave a Reply

